Super IPL Sunday: RCB aims to damage playoffs berth vs PBKS, SRH KKR chances

Royal Challengers Bangalore will be closer to achieving a playoff berth when they clash with the Punjab Kings in the Indian Premier League match in Sharjah on Sunday. In view of their first IPL title win, RCB are currently third in the Peking Order with seven wins and four defeats for 14 points.

Two more points from the win will almost certainly place them in the place of off, but for that, the RCB should put it in the hands of the Punjab Kings who are enjoying a courageous win over the Kolkata Knight Riders.

With their five-wicket win over KKR, the Punjab Kings also kept alive their playoff chances despite being fifth with 12 points after five wins and seven reverses.

Against the prestigious RCB outfit, the Punjab Kings will cut their work at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Although he could not score big, Virat Kohli was in the middle of his team’s victory over Rajasthan Royals, as well as captain young opening partner Devdat Padikkal.

The two played a few cracking shots before in-form star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell completed the task with his second consecutive half-century.

If the situation demands something like their last outing, Maxwell could again look to Srikar Bharat to build a solid partnership in the middle overs.

On the other hand, the Punjab Kings will once again rely on their loyal opening duo of captains KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal.

They are on the run against KKR and will look to make an encore against RCB.

The biggest plus for the Punjab Kings going into the RCB game was their death bowling, which paved the way for their victory in the last match.

In the two overs in which Mohammad Shami and Arshdeep Singh died, Punjab went a long way in setting up a victory over KKR, and the team hopes for a similar outing from both against RCB.

Teams (from):

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Navdeep Saini, Glenn Maxwell, Don Christian, Rajat Patidar, Dushmantha Chamira, Pawan Deshpande, Mohammad Siraj, Hershel Patel, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Baby, Vanindu Hasaranga, George Ghazal, George Ghazal, , Suyash Prabhudesai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Akash Deep, AB de Villiers.

Kings of Punjab: KL Rahul (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Arshadeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Shahrukh Khan, Mohammad Shami, Nathan Ellis, Adil Rashid, Murugan Ashwin, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Chris Jordan, Aiden Markram Singh, Darshan, , Ravi Bishnoi, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Jalaj Saxena.

Match starts: 3:30 IST.

SRH aims to reduce KRR’s play-off chances

In the play-off race, the bottom-ranked Sunrisers Hyderabad reduced their chances of reaching the knockout stage of the Kolkata Knight Riders when they met in the IPL game here on Sunday.

With nine defeats from 11 matches, SRH is at the bottom, with KKR still hoping to qualify for the knockout stage as they are fourth with 10 points from 12 matches.

SRH have won just one of the four matches they have played since the IPL reopened in the UAE.

SRH won by five wickets over Rajasthan Royals, but they lost their last match in Sharjah by six wickets, qualifying for the Chennai Super Kings play-off.

Captain David Warner was sacked after the Sunrisers withdrew from their lone IPL winning (2016) captaincy, but that did not change the fate of the team as Kane Williamson could not restore the fortunes of the Orange Army.

For SRH, especially in the absence of Johnny Bairstow, batting remained their weak link.

English opener Jason Roy made his debut with Quickfire 60 and Williamson also scored 51 off a successful 165-run chase against RR, both of whom came as crappers against CSK in their final game.

In the bowling department, Jason Holder repeatedly gave them progress, but Indian senior pacers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Siddharth Kaul were disappointed.

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan remains SRH’s biggest weapon against any opposition, but he does not have enough runs to play many times.

For KKR, the UAE leg of the IPL is very confusing as they have won three games and lost two so far.

The two-time former champions impressed with their performance in the second half and both of their defeats were also narrow, where they lost in the final over.

Venkatesh Iyer was the star performer with the bat in the second leg for KKR, while Rahul Tripathi was the highest run scorer for the team this season.

The decision to move Nitish Rana in this order also paid dividends, but Shubham Gill was unable to take advantage of the start.

In bowling, Varun Chakraborty took six wickets in the second over while Sunil Narine was also on the wicket list.

But with Andre Russell and Lucky Ferguson missing games after injuries, they have concerns in the pace department that captain Eoin Morgan has had to make changes.

The KKR captain also needs to make a few runs under his belt.

TK Southee and Shivam Mavi are the new pace bowling duo for KKR and they need to come further.

Pacer Prasidh Krishna took four wickets in his matches and was dropped after scoring 22 runs in the 19th over against CSK.

Teams (from):

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eon Morgan (capt), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Shubhman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lucky Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M. Prasad Krishna, Sandeep Warrior, Shivam , Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakraborty, Andre Russell, Ben Cutting, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Tim Seafert

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (capt), David Warner, Manish Pandey, Sherfen Rutherford, Wriddhiman Saha, Shrivath Goswami, Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Khalil Ahmed, Urman, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abdul Samad, J Suchit, Jason Holder, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Jason Roy.

The match starts at 7:30 pm IST.



Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: