IPL 2021: RCB wants to regain winning ways over resilient CSK

The Royal Challengers Bangalore, who faced Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s resilient Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League (IPL) match, will look to recapture their mojo after overcoming a humiliating defeat in the previous tour.

While RCB was trying to make a fresh start, CSK recorded a 20-run victory over defending champions Mumbai Indians on Sunday night.

It is imperative that the RCB improve their batting in order to maintain their position at the top of the points table.

The openers – Devdutt Padikkal (217) and skipper Virat Kohli (203) – were instrumental in giving a solid start.

But the opening pair needed support from the middle-order, which collapsed on the Kolkata Knight Riders.

They will need to unite against a strong CSK attack like Glenn Maxwell (233) and AB de Villiers (207).

In the first leg the Australian Maxwell defended his high price tag, becoming the side top scorer. Like De Villiers, on whom he has always relied, he goes forward once again.

RCB bowlers also have to forget the underwhelming display on the KKR. Pacers Mohammad Siraj and Hershel Patel bowled well while Kiwi Quick Kyle Jamison, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and all-rounder Vanindu Hasaranga all scored more than 10 runs in the over.

If youngster Ruturaj Gaikwad is unbeaten on 88 off 58 balls, CSK could have been knocked out in the match against Mumbai.

Leading run-getter Faf du Plessis (320), Moin Ali was ducked out while Ambati Rayudu retired. Veterans Suresh Raina and Dhoni also failed to reach double figures and the team scored 24 runs for the loss of 4 wickets.

But Gaikwad was not annoyed and led the three-time champions to a respectable 156 runs. He had key partnerships with all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo, who scored 23 runs in eight deliveries to take the team. 150 run mark.

Retaining a small amount, CSK displayed immense resilience as the bowlers led by pacer Deepak Chahar and Dwayne Bravo gave the “Yellow Army” their sixth win of the season.

Friday’s win will take them back to the table.

CSK will also have a chance to pick young England all-rounder Sam Curran, one of the breakout stars in last year’s IPL, to shine with both bat and ball.

Chennai Super Kings Squad: MS Dhoni (Captain) Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moin Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Engidi, Deepak Chahar, Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Kar, , Krishnappa Gautam, Mitchell Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishant, N Jagadeesan, Cheteshwar Pujara, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagat Verma.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Navdeep Saini, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Rajat Patidar, Dushmantha Chamira, Pawan Deshpande, Mohammad Siraj, Hershel Patel, Mohammad Azharuddin, Sachin Baby, Vanindu Hasaranga, George Ghardan, George Ghardan, Kyle Jamison, Suyash Prabhudesai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Akash Deep, AB de Villiers.



Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: