CSK vs PBKS XIs: Sam Curran injury extends Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will not be able to rest their last league match in IPL 2021, they need to win for the top-two finish as they will face Punjab Kings (PBKS) as they are looking for a miracle to qualify for the playoffs. CSK lost their last match and will look to bounce back. To qualify for the PBKS, they must win by a large margin and hope that both KKR and MI lose their matches. To overcome their low net run rate, PBKS must beat CSK by about 70 runs and KKR, currently in fourth place, are hoping to lose by a similar margin.

With a place in Qualifier 1 on the line, MS Dhoni’s team also lost the luxury of having Sam Curran away from the tournament with an injury. That means CSK will be fielding pace attackers Josh Hazelwood, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar and Dwayne Bravo. Their other choice was Dominic Drakes, who replaced Curran. The West Indies all-rounder is part of the Saint Kitts & Nevis Patriots’ successful campaign this CPL season.

Suresh Raina missed the last match with a ‘back issue’, Robin Uthappa can retain his place, Raina is still not available.

Chennai Super Kings Probable XI: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Moin Ali, Robin Uthappa, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazelwood

The Punjab Kings have failed to finish very close matches this season and have been found to be over-reliant on their top order who lost Chris Gayle. They fielded three foreigners against RCB and could bring in Adil Rashid or Chris Jordan for the match. Deepak Hooda could also play in their place in XI. Even outside the form of Nicholas Pooran can be cut for Hooda or Sarfaraz Khan.

Punjab Kings Probable XI: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Aiden Markram, Shahrukh Khan, Moises Henriques, Adil Rashid, Harpreet Brar, Mohammad Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh


Chennai Super Kings Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moin Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (w / c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazelwood, Suresh Raina, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karn, , Jason Behrendorf, Krishnappa Gautam, Lungi Engidi, Michelle Santner, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Hari Nishant, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Harishankar Reddy, Bhagat Verma

Punjab Kings Squad: KL Rahul (w / c), Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran, Aiden Markram, Sarfaraz Khan, Shahrukh Khan, Moises Henriques, Harpreet Brar, Mohammad Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshadeep Singh, Adil Rashid, Mandeep Singh, Chris Jordan, Deepak Hooda, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Ishan Porel, Utkarsh Singh, Darshan Nalkande, Prabhasimran Singh, Nathan Ellis, Murugan Ashwin



Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: